New Year Gift Ideas

View All
Personlised Gifts
Gifts Hamper

Why Ferns N Petals?

  • check Delivering Emotions Since 1994
  • alarm_on We Deliver On Time - Every Time!
  • card_giftcard An Order is Delivered Every 2.5 Seconds!
  • verified_user 100% Smile Guaranteed!

When is New Year Celebrated in India?

India is a land of diverse culture where people of different religions with different cultural values live united together. As per the Gregorian calendar, New Year is celebrated on 1st January, every year. But according to the Hindu calendar, New Year in India is celebrated at different times of the year at different places. The New Year is celebrated in different states of India at the time of harvesting of crops and known by different names in various regions. Let us take a look at the New Year celebrations held in different parts of the country.

Ugadi- Telugu New Year

Ugadi is the New Year celebration for the people of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Telangana states in India. The term Ugadi is derived from the Sanskrit words Yuga (age) and Adi (beginning), which means read more

Gudi Padwa- Marathi New Year

Gudi Padwa marks the traditional New Year for Maharashtrians. It is celebrated on the first day of the Chaitra month according to the lunisolar Hindu calendar in and near Maharashtra. The word padava comes read more

Baisakhi- Punjabi New Year

Baisakhi, also known as Vaisakhi, Vaishakhi, or Vasakhi marks the Sikh New Year. It is considered a religious festival in Sikhism and Hinduism, which is usually celebrated on 13th or 14th April every year. It is a spring harvest read more

Puthandu- Tamil New Year

Puthandu, also known as Puthuvarusham or Tamil New Year marks the beginning of Chithrai- the first month in the Tamil calendar year. The festival date is read more

Bohag Bihu- Assamese New Year

Bohag Bihu, also called Rongali Bihu or Xaat Bihu marks the beginning of Assamese New Year that signifies the time of harvest and usually falls on the second week of April. It is one of the read more

Pohela Boishakh- Bengali New Year

Pohela Boishakh or Bangla Nabobarsho is the traditional New Year day celebrated in the Indian state of Bengal. In Bengali, Pohela means 'first' and Boishakh is the first month of Bengali calendar. This day is read more

Bestu Varas- Gujarati New Year

Bestu Varas also called Varsha Pratipada or Padwa is Gujarati New Year falls in the Hindu month of Kartik, which is the first month of the Gujarati Calendar. It falls on the day after Diwali. According to the legends read more

Vishu- Malayalam New Year

Vishu is the New Year Hindu festival celebrated in the Indian state of Kerala. The word Vishu means equal, which signifies the completion of the spring equinox. It falls in the middle read more

Losoong- Sikkimese New Year

Losoong or Namsoong marks the beginning of the Sikkimese New Year of the Bhutia tribe/ It is celebrated every year with great joy and fervor in the month of December. According to the Tibetan Lunar calendar middle read more

Navreh- Kashmiri New Year

The festival of Navreh is celebrated by Kashmiri Pandit families as New Year. It is observed on the first day of the fortnight of the month of Chaitra. The work Navreh read more

Pana Sankranti- Odisha New Year

Pana Sankranti, also known as Maha Bisuba Sankranti is the New Year celebration for the people of Odisha. It is usually celebrated on the 14th or 15th of April, every year. The festival is marked read more

Dates of New Year in India for Next Five Years

2023 1st January Sunday
2024 1st January Monday
2025 1st January Wednesday
2026 1st January Thursday
2027 1st January Friday